Our Team

Peter Hartcher

Our Patron

Leading Australian journalist, commentator and author

“The young people of Treehouse, once seen, cannot be forgotten. They will inspire you. You will learn what it is to be a refugee. And you be reminded of what it is to be Australian.”

Catherine Maguire-Donvito

Co-Founder and Director

Catherine is a Psychologist and School Counsellor, who uses the power of story-telling and live theatre to facilitate trauma recovery in young refugees.

Ruth Hartcher-O’Brien

Co-Founder and Director

Ruth is a Drama and English as a Second Language teacher working with refugee students in South Sydney. Using story telling in her classroom practise inspired the creation of Treehouse Theatre.

George Rosier


George formally established the Treehouse Theatre association in January 2011. He managed administrative work and financial support in the early years, taking on the dual roles of secretary and treasurer. He served as President from 2014 to 2020 and continues as a member of the committee.

Production Team

Isaac Owen – Director
Tracey Okeby Lucan – Producer
Aimee Reid – Stage Manager
Walter Moore – Lighting Designer
Lilliana Galea – Psychologist
Nic Alexander – Composer
Marissa McGarry – Graphic Design
Fitophotos – Performance Photography


Martin Hartcher – President
George Rosier – Vice President
Red Reyes – Treasurer
Richard Wentworth Ping – Committee
Bouchra Hader – Committee
Annie Thompson – Committee
Cassandra Monjo – Committee

Previous Team Members

Anthony Meggit – Founding President and mentor for members of the first committee
Jo Hind – founding vice-president, then president and valued committee member
Tehmineh Hossieny – assistant director
Tamari Sabri – participant, prop maker and committee member
Sam McGowan – costumes and committee member
Ali Almorad – production assistant, acting coach and translator
Margaret Ellen-Burns – head shot and rehearsal photography
Kate Maguire-Rosier – assistant choreographer and committee member
Anna Hein – original website design and maintenance
Rochelle Wang – original flyer and logo design
Muheed Jamaldeen – committee member

Luke Evans – production assistant and teacher volunteer
Jonothan Connor – assistant stage manager
Alex Grilnac – contributing artist
Kevin Ng – sound design
Craig Taunton – multimedia design
Mohsen El Dreihi – translation
Akeel Abbas – participant and committee member
Anthony Meggitt – valued founding committee member
Andy Guy – contributing artist and vocal coach
Emilija Markela – assistant director and production assistant
Jocelyn Ly – volunteer co-ordinator and production assistant